A Beginners Guide To Chakras

The entire universe is made of energy – and your body is no exception. One way to think of the energy held within you is as ‘Chakras’ – the spinning wheels of energy that keep us all functioning properly. If you’ve never heard of the term before, you might think it all sounds rather mystical, and maybe a bit ‘new age-y’. But in reality, Chakras are just another way of viewing the body holistically, and achieving improved health and wellbeing by treating your body, mind and spirit as a whole, and not the sum of its parts. To get you up to speed on the concept, we’ve put together a short ‘beginners guide’.

What Is A Chakra?

Put simply, ‘Chakra’ is the term used for specific areas of energy held within our bodies. The word ‘Chakra’ comes from the ancient Indian language of Sanskrit, and means ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’. Knowing this helps us visualise them more clearly – as spinning wheels of energy. There are 7 main Chakras within all of us, each relating to a specific system within our body. But while the Chakras are separate, they are also interconnected, and each needs to function well in relation to the other. A good way to understand this is to imagine the cogs of a wheel – each one spinning the right way at the eight speed to make the whole mechanism work smoothly.

The 7 Major Chakras

We all have 7 major Chakras in our body, and each one is closely linked with our endocrine system. This system, along with the automatic nervous system, control hormone secretion, which in turn has a big impact on our mood and overall health. Each Chakra is linked to a different area of the body, and it breaks down something like this:

Root Chakra: Located in our feet, this is the Chakra associated with our adrenal glands, which secrete hormones to regulate our metabolism and salt balance. This is also where the chemical adrenalin is produced, which is essential for the ‘fight, flight or freeze’ response. This is why the root Chakra is associated with our primitive selves and survival instincts.

Sacral Chakra: The Sacral Chakra is located around the male and female reproductive organs, and impacts physical development, sexual maturity and fertility. Positive energy flow in this area is linked not just to physical fertility but also to our internal relationship with our own sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra: This Chakra covers the area around our stomach and pancreas – the lower part of our bellies. So it’s no surprise that it’s associated with our digestive system and control of blood sugar. We’re more aware of the link between emotional stress and out digestive system when we experience a ‘gut reaction’ to something, or experience butterflies in our stomach.

Heart Chakra: We associate the heart with our emotional responses to people and situations, which is exactly what the heart Chakra does. Located just above the heart is the thymus, which stimulates both physical growth and our immune system. Both of these functions can be adversely affected if the heart Chakra is left imbalanced, usually due to emotional trauma.

Throat Chakra: The throat Chakra is located in the throat, and related to the thyroid and parathyroid glands, which control the body’s metabolic rate (or energy conversion rate) and calcium levels. These are also linked to mental development, and how we process heartfelt emotions in our minds.

Third-Eye Charka: Sometimes referred to as the ‘master gland’ of the endocrine system, the pituitary gland has an effect on our entire body chemistry. The third-eye Chakra is located in at the base of the skull, right where our pituitary gland sits, and is typically linked with intuition and instinct.

Crown Chakra: This Charka is located right on the top of our heads, and is linked to the pineal gland. This gland is responsible for melatonin production – the hormone that regulates our Circadian Rhythm or ‘body clock’, and our patterns of waking and sleeping. The effects of poor sleep are well documented, so it’s important that this Chakra is kept in balance.

But What Causes Chakra Imbalances?

As you can see, the 7 Chakras work together to govern some pretty crucial areas of our physical and mental health. But since they are made up of energy, anything in our life that prevents or blocks energy flow is likely to disturb them, causing psychical and mental issues. The most common causes for an imbalance in Chakras are emotional stress and traumatic experiences, which lead to negative energy being stored on one or more Chakras. This interrupts the natural flow of energy in your body and can even cause some of your important ‘cogs’ to grind to a halt. That negative energy can remain and build for years after a traumatic event, or build gradually due to the stresses of everyday life. And unless it is resolved, more issues will start to creep in.

So, can you do anything about it? Yes! By undertaking work to free and rebalance your Chakras, you can restore yourself to good health on a mental, physical and spiritual level. This may mean guided work focussing on a specific Chakra (relating to your specific need), or working on your general Chakra balance as a whole. By listening to our bodies, we can gain an insight into how our Chakras are functioning and what we can do to improve our health and wellbeing. To find out more about Chakra balancing, or about our regular Chakra workshops, just get in touch with us today.

2 thoughts on “A Beginners Guide To Chakras

  1. I am really impressed with the writing skills plus together with the layout in your weblog.

    Is it a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    In any event maintain the nice quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a great blog this way one nowadays.

Comments are closed.